Centre for Social Impact (CSI)

The Centre for Social Impact is one of Australia's most influential thought leaders in the area of philanthropy, social investment and sustainable communities.

In 2006, following an approach by Baillieu Myer AC to Prime Minister John Howard, the Australian Government commissioned a working party to research the development of philanthropy in the higher education sector.

The Working Group on Education and Training in Philanthropy and Social Investment comprised a number of senior executives from business, academia, government and non‐profit organisations and was jointly chaired by Peter Fritz AM, Managing Director of Global Access Partners, and Prof Ian Young, Vice-Chancellor and President of Swinburne University.

The results of the Working Group’s extensive research into opportunities for grantmaker education in Australia formed the basis of two major reports to the Government, with the key recommendation being to create a national center for philanthropy and social investment. Following the Group’s recommendation, the Australian Government has provided an endowment of $12.4 million (matched by industry funds) for the establishment of the Centre for Social Impact.

The Centre for Social Impact (CSI) brings together Business Schools of Swinburne University, University of Melbourne, University of New South Wales and University of Western Australia. It provides managerial education, executive support and research for the not‐for‐profit sector. The Centre is located at the UNSW and is led by Dr Peter Shergold.

The value of and support for the Centre was recognised by a public lecture delivered by the Australian Prime Minister (then Deputy Prime Minister) Julia Gillard MP hosted by the Centre on 28 February 2008 and the official launch of the Centre at the University of New South Wales by the Governor‐General, Major General Michael Jeffery, on 16 July 2008.

One of the most significant initiatives of the CSI was the launch of the NSW Social Impact Grants in 2010.


Current projects

:: Australian e-Conservatorium of Music

:: GAP Taskforce on Government Health Procurement